Township Council

Township Council Meetings

  • 7:00PM at Town Hall
  • Twice Monthly
  • View Meeting Calendar
  • As of March 2020 and until further notice, the public can participate in meetings via Zoom.
  • Since March 2020, Township Council meeting recordings can be found on the Township YouTube channel.

Hearing on Agenda Items and Citizens Hearing

Comments are welcome during this portion of the meeting via Zoom: If you need to enter a meeting ID, it is: 357-574-7364.  Before making a comment, all speakers must identify their name and address.  Each speaker is limited to 3 minutes; each speaker has two chances to speak (total of 6 minutes).  Written comments may also be submitted in lieu of verbal comments via the zoom chat function prior to the end of the hearing.  Your cooperation in adherence to these rules of order will ensure an orderly and respectful meeting.

Alternatively, you may submit written comments in advance of the meeting either via electronic mail (to: or by written letter (to: Township Clerk, 29 Park Avenue, Berkeley Heights, NJ 07922), including commenter's full name and address, which must be received by the Township Clerk by 4:00 P.M. on the date of the Zoom meeting.

Council President Agenda Summary

Before each Council meeting, the Council President writes a synopsis of the items on the forthcoming agenda, including ordinances and resolutions for consideration.

Click here to access the Council President Agenda Summary page

Council Reports 

Council Reports are given by Council members at each Township Council meeting, and include committee/commission/board activity.

Click here for a full list of Council Reports

Agendas & Minutes

  • Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
  • View Agendas and Minutes


Township Council members are elected for a three year term on a staggered basis, with two elected each year.


The Township of Berkeley Heights is governed by the Mayor /Council /Administrator form of local government. 

Term Overview

As a variant of the Faulkner Act, the Mayor is directly elected by the voters and serves a term of four years. Council members are elected to serve three year terms. Council terms are staggered so that two Council seats are up for election each year.

Voters Elect

The voters elect section is comprised of the Mayor and 6 council members:

  • Council: Staggered 3 year term
  • Mayor: 4 year term

Organization of Governing Body

The governing body is organized on January 1.


The Mayor:

  • Appoints:
    • Administrator
    • Attorney
    • Department heads with Council approval
    • Municipal clerk
    • Tax assessor
    • Tax collector
    • Treasurer
  • Has veto subject to override by 2/3 of all Council members
  • May remove department heads upon written notice to Council
  • Presides over Council and Exercises the executive power of municipality
  • Votes only to break ties


The Council:

  • Approves Mayor's appointees for:
    • Administrator
    • Attorney
    • Department heads
    • Municipal clerk
    • Tax assessor
    • Tax collector
    • Treasurer
  • Exercises legislative power of the municipality
  • May remove department heads for cause after a hearing
  • Prepares budget with assistance of municipal administrator and treasurer


Mayor exercises executive power of the municipality. Up to six departments may be created by ordinance. Administrator supervises administration of each department.